Reading Habits Book Tag

So, it seems like it’s a tag Thursday. Today we will be diving into my habits as a reader. I’m always interested in other reader’s habits. So, I thought I would give you a little bit more insight into my habits.

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

  • Usually I end up reading on my bed when I’m at home. However, I don’t always read there. I can pretty much read anywhere.

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

  • I have tons of bookmarks. Seriously, i have way too many. But, most of the time I end up shoving receipts and pieces of paper in my books to save my spot.

Can you stop reading anytime you want or do you have to stop reading at a certain page, chapter, part ect.?

  • I can stop at any point. It doesn’t bother me to stop in the middle of a page or chapter.

Do you eat or drink while you read?

  • I usually always have a drink with me while I read. I don’t eat very often when I read, but I always have something to drink.

Can you read while listening to music/watching TV?

  • I definitely cannot watch TV while reading. However, I can listen to instrumental music while reading. If it has lyrics, though I can’t concentrate at all.

One book at a time or several at once?

  • Most of the time I stick to one single book at a time. There are times that I end up reading multiple. But, that’s really rare for me.

Reading at home or everywhere?

  • I can concentrate most at home. Yet, I enjoy reading anywhere and everywhere. There is no limit to where I will read.

Reading out loud or silently in your head?

  • I enjoy reading out loud for my students. It can be tiring, but I love their reactions to the stories. My preference is to read silently. However, there are definitely exceptions to that.

Do you read ahead or skip pages?

  • Never. I don’t even like to know what the plot of a story is. I want to go in completely blind to a book and I don’t want to be spoiled at all. So, I would never read ahead or skip pages.

Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

  • I try to keep my books as new-looking as possible. Of course, this makes reading difficult sometimes. Often I have to open books less than what would normally be comfortable. But, it’s totally worth it.

Do you write in books?

  • It is very rare that I would write in books. In college I always wrote in my books. Now that I’m growing my library I have stopped marking my books in any way.

 

Do you have a certain place that you prefer to read?

7 thoughts on “Reading Habits Book Tag

  1. Most of these answers above apply to me too, except even instrumental music distracts me too much. I often also wind up with bits of torn tissue as a bookmark if it is needed. Oh, and I may be reading a fiction book, but also have a serious text like Tibetan Buddhist on the go at the same time, since they are different and the scholarly stuff requires more attention like with the footnotes etc., so the fiction is more for easy fun and I can finish an old paperback in a night, but the scholarly books may take a lot longer.

    Like

  2. I’ve found I don’t mind marking in my books much if I use a grey highlighter, because then, while they are easier to find, it isn’t like – bamb bright pink highlighter!

    Like

Leave a comment